1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Results in job share classes

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by Louise1612, Feb 27, 2019.

1. Louise1612

Louise1612 New commenter

Hi all,

I'm very sorry to gatecrash the headteachers area, but I need some advice. I'm a primary school teacher and have applied to change from full time to part time following maternity leave. There is another teacher returning at the same time who has also requested the same and our requests match exactly. We've just found out we've been refused. They've said the reason is that results are lower in job share classes so will cause a deterioration in results. We only have one job share in school so there's limited internal data, but all the data I've found nationally says that there is no evidence that job shares get lower results.

I guess what I'm asking is, do you find that job share classes get lower results? Do they have a negative impact on pupils? With the government drive towards more flexible working I'm genuinely interested to see what the general opinion is towards job share classes.

Many thanks

2. J_bird11

J_bird11 New commenter

Hi,

Job shares can be a bit of a nightmare for heads. They cost more and it's a gamble as to whether they will work or not. Job shares can be refused if the govs/head feel it will be detrimental to the school in any way - results, financial, organisation etc

I have many job shares at my school and have encouraged governors to support this as it helps to retain some excellent teachers, however they aren't perfect for the reasons stated above.