1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Restorative Behaviour Practices

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by Artdoodle, May 12, 2018.

1. Artdoodle

Artdoodle New commenter

Hello everyone,

I'm feeling rather frustrated and a bit jaded. I am an experienced teacher who has been teaching for sixteen years and I am a Head of Faculty. A few years ago we had a change of SLT and they scrapped the old behaviour policy in favour of a rather vague restorative policy. So we are a few years down the line with this (interestingly the Primary School under new management adopted the same policy) and the poor behaviour and disrespect especially with first years is causing teachers problems. At the same time we are becoming a Rights Respecting School and the pupils are regularly challenging, well, everything really, but in particular the levels they should be entered in subjects.