1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Resources/info/activities - dyslexia

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by sispud, Nov 10, 2011.

1. sispud

sispud New commenter

Hi, I'm looking for some ideas to use with a boy that I tutor privately. He is in year 9 and has only just been diagnosed with dyslexia. Apparently it is severe but he is high-achieving. He has a reading age and a spelling age of 8 judging by the tests I've used with him. Anyway, I am an English teacher, so don't have any specific experience of helping with dyslexia, so just wondered where to start really. We've done some phonics and we play some games like scrabble/hangman, but I'm just wondering if there are any books/resources out there that I could maybe work through with him? Thanks for any suggestions.

2. I have resources that were made for dyslexic pupils at primary level. I have adapted these by changing most of the pictures to be more suitable for older pupils. I can send you a list of the resources and some examples of the ones I have adapted. They follow a structured multisensory programme of phonics and sight words.
    email: margaret2612@btinternet.com

3. Hickey programme is a good all round resource - spelling, reading and handwriting taught through multisensory activities.

4. Hello Mags, I have 3 children of my own with dyslexia and a fourth that is only 6 and struggling so if you could forward the list to me as well I would be so so grateful !