1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Resigning with Immediate Effect

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by mypseudonym, Oct 2, 2019.

1. mypseudonym

mypseudonym New commenter

Hi All,

I am a data manager at a secondary school and have been with my current employer for nearly 5 years.

I am in dispute with my employer and I have gotten a solicitor involved. It's all long and complicated - related to discrimination, harassment etc etc. All nasty stuff. I've stayed working for purely financial reasons. But I am at my witts end and know that I have to leave soon for my own well-being.

My employer has been given until Tuesday next week to respond to the allegations put to them by my solicitor.

I have a feeling they will not respond well - obviously. I have accused them of several breaches of contract.

As would be expected given the circumstances, I know I will have to resign soon, regardless of my financial needs.

My line manager is a deputy head teacher. My dispute is with the head teacher, the business manager and another deputy head teacher.
    • When I do resign, should I give the letter to my direct line manager or to the head teacher?
    • Can I just resign with immediate effect (not work my notice period) because I believe they have breached our contract?
    • If I resign with immediate effect, can I just give whoever the letter at the end of my last day and never come back?
    Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. DexterDexter

DexterDexter Occasional commenter

Check your contract- what does it say for serving notice?
    Does it have a “Garden Leave” clause? You don’t want to leave being in breach of contract!