1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

resignation

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by bossyhill, Jan 30, 2011.

1. I am about to resign a position I have only just begun. I fell into the trap of a part-time job teaching, believing it to be exactly that; part-time. What I'm finding is that it requires a full-time commitment, and this year my focus needs to be on a course I am studying part-time. I have decided to hand in my notice tomorrow and am wondering whether there are circumstances when schools allow you to leave earlier then would be usual, particularly since I have been there such a short time. I utterly regret taking up the post, but somehow thought it might work out, instead I feel really stressed and unhappy and feel that the workload keeps building. Now I feel I cannot do neither my course nor the job well. I am sure that the school is unhappy with me too. It is meant to be a job for only two terms to cover someone's maternity leave, but it requires so much extra work as the school wants me to change the way things have been running and introduce things that have not been done before. The thought of being able to leave makes me feel like I can breathe again, so I'm making this difficult choice. Please respond, I haven't had anyone to talk to about this, so any replies would be welcomed.
    Thank you,
    Miss Hill