1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Resignation Letter & Dates

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by mickey23, Jan 6, 2009.

1. I am planning on handing in my resignation before February half term. But Im a little confused...

I am going to live abroad so not going into another teaching position. I have heard that because of this the school can keep me until 30th April- which is fine. Do I actually state that I want my last day to be 30th April? I dont have any hard feelings against the school I really like it so I dont want to leave a negative or harsh letter. Does anyone have any ideas on what I should write I have never done this before so do not have a clue!

Thanks

2. I am planning on handing in my resignation before February half term. But Im a little confused...

I am going to live abroad so not going into another teaching position. I have heard that because of this the school can keep me until 30th April- which is fine. Do I actually state that I want my last day to be 30th April? I dont have any hard feelings against the school I really like it so I dont want to leave a negative or harsh letter. Does anyone have any ideas on what I should write I have never done this before so do not have a clue!

Thanks

3. it is unlikely that a school, would want to 'keep' you and more importantly pay for you beyond the end of term

4. tafkam

tafkam Occasional commenter

I suppose, in theory, you are as entitled to stay until 30 April as they are to insist that you do.
    However, my advice, as ever in such situations, is to discuss the matters with your Headteacher.