1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Research project help

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by PP1987, Feb 24, 2016.

1. PP1987

PP1987 New commenter

Hi everyone,
    Am hoping i can pick your brains!! I am in my final year of University and am conducting a research project upon the effectiveness of the current curriculum used within Moderate Learning Difficulty schools with a focus upon pupils with Autistic Spectrum Condition. I've previously worked in a MLD setting and found that there is a great frustration for teachers in terms of the EYFS curriculum. We discussed how the curriculum doesn't allow the very basic "learning to learn" skills needed to address the so called deficit skills of children with ASC when they first come into the setting. Discussions so far have involved the need to move away from the curriculum however differentiated to utilise the teaching of basic skills required as a pre-requisite to learning such as the teaching of communication skills (PECs etc), attention skills (bucket groups) etc.

Can i ask if this was just the case within my setting or do other settings have similar difficulties? Am i correct in thinking that all state MLD settings have to teach the NC as a basis but it can be differentiated for the individual needs of the pupil?