1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

RESEARCH HELP: SEX EDUCATION IN PRIMARY SCHOOLS

Discussion in 'Primary' started by SYEDA_THAKEE, Dec 3, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I am currently a student and as part of my final year dissertation I will be conducting research on the issue of Sex Education Lesson in primary schools (for children aged 9-11 years).

Having been enlightened by the introduction of Sex Education lessons as part of Personal, Social, Health and Economics Education (PSHE) as compulsory in all primary schools (since September 2011); I was hoping to receive some participation from here. I am interested in responses from teachers in primary schools, who have had experience in teaching and negotiating with parents.

Before responding I would like a small introduction (this is only provisional and I may require more information):
    Name(username is accepted):
    Years in teaching:
    Region:
    Types of school (e.g. community, independent, faith):
    Are you for or against the introduction of compulsory Sex Education?

My focus on the research is on:
    How parents, teachers, Local Authorities and School Governors negotiate with each other, with regards to Sex Education lessons?
    What are your opinions on parental intervention, on whether a child should take part in Sex Education lessons?
    What forms of negotiations do you use?
    Has negotiation patterns changed over the time you have been teaching (if relevant)? For example before and after the introduction of compulsory Sex Education

I appreciate your opinions and experiences; there are no right or wrong answers.