1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Research For New 'Music' Lesson Product

Discussion in 'Music' started by tomclarke89, Jan 8, 2012.

1. Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Tom Clarke and I'm a Music Studies graduate from Liverpool John Moores University (I performed the 'silly hat' ritual last summer). You're may be curious as to what my degree entailed, but without wanting to describe the depth of each module, this course offered a selection of practical and theoretical teachings in the field of musicology. A common joke was that, because of the sheer breadth of the theory and state of the music industry today, you'll leave University despising what goes on behind the scenes!

Rather than entering the popular music business however, I decided to work against the grain and start up my own company. The drive behind this was simple; that the only way I could ever be happy with myself was if I was helping others to not just appreciate music, but to help them discover that although all music instruments have vastly different attributes in their performance requirements, they are all equal in their potential to catalyse creative practice. So why can't school children have the same equal opportunities to learn?

The common perception of a 'light bulb' moment is obviously mislead, but after having a heart-to-heart with my old college teacher (who taught me Graphic Art), she told me that one day, everything will come together. I can't think of a truer statement that I've had the pleasure of hearing, and without a doubt, it applied to confusion I felt upon graduation - that although I was qualified in a variety of creative degrees, I was unsure if they could all work in harmony.