1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Research and Free Coaching Opportunities for Head Teachers

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by sciencenewbie, Apr 28, 2017.

1. sciencenewbie

sciencenewbie New commenter

My name is Neil Gilbride. I am a lecturer in Educational Leadership at the University of Gloucestershire and a PhD student at the University of Bath.

I am writing as I am currently looking for head teachers who are willing to be part of my study. For their involvement, I am in a position to be able to offer participants free personalised CPD/coaching exploring their sense making and its impact on their leadership.

What is the Research?

I have written a few words about the research here. However, you could also watch my 1 minute video explaining what my work is all about https://spark.adobe.com/video/JpGxlwdqiqpXY

The core idea behind my work is that we are always making sense of the world around us. In the 1970’s, Jane Loevinger found there were 8 stages for how people go about making sense of the world, which she called “Ego Development Stages”. If you go to www.egodevelopment.co.uk, you can see what these stages are. What’s important about these stages is

1) They affect how a wide range of factors, from how complex we view the world to how we deal with people

2) People can move through these stages throughout their lives.

3) They treat the person not just as a box of skills, but treat the person as a whole.