1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Research: a link between hope and burnout?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by aliciadalton1903, Jan 25, 2016.

Tags:
  1. aliciadalton1903

aliciadalton1903 New commenter

Hello, I am a third year psychology student at the University of Northampton. I am currently carrying out my dissertation research and I am investigating the relationship between hope and burnout in teachers. Previous research suggests that in other high stress sectors, those who have low perception of hope are more likely to experience burnout. I am interested in finding out if this is applicable to teachers as well.
    If you would be interested in filling out a short questionnaire, feel free to message me and I can send you a link to the questionnaire. Your input would be greatly appreciated.

2. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

“It's not the despair, Laura. I can take the despair. It's the hope I can't stand."

Presumably this is your inspiration. I like the idea. I've been retired for nearly seven years so am not able to help I'm afraid. Also I never did burn out, but was extinguished against my wishes.

knitone, 3Es and InkyP like this.
  3. marlin

marlin Star commenter

Are you inviting responses only from those currently employed as teachers, or are you casting a wider net? Many who have suffered burn out may have left for another career, taken early retirement or be unemployed.

It would be helpful to know, so that your time (and that of willing participants), is not wasted sending and replying to messages.

Good luck with your research! :)

4. aliciadalton1903