1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Requirements for teaching in australia

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by SamEdwards91, Sep 18, 2018.

1. SamEdwards91

SamEdwards91 New commenter

I am looking into teaching in Australia and wondered if anyone knew the requirements to do so? E.g. certificates or applying for a visa before applying. I have a BSC, PGCE and 5 years experience teaching in the uk?

2. 576

576 Established commenter

Do a search.
    Here or online generally.
    It sounds from what others say like it's not easy and varies from state to state.

SamEdwards91 likes this.
  3. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

You will need either:

A remote school willing to sponsor you for a visa (remote doesn't necessarily mean the outback, some smaller cities can do this)

Or

A permanent 187/189 visa. This is points based and you'll need a degree, PGCE, IELTS and several years experience to have the required points. You'll then need to move to Australia unemployed and find work from there unless your subject is shortage enough to get a job over Skype

4. snitzelvonkrumm

snitzelvonkrumm Occasional commenter

A sense of humour
    Don't ask them how their cricket, rugby, football, or pretty much any other sporting team is getting on.
    Take care when using sandpaper.

englishdragon and ruthwill500 like this.
  5. Sherbear320

Sherbear320 New commenter

We have loads of Oz teachers here in NZ cause they can’t get jobs at home unless you math or science or want to go remote very very difficult

6. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Lead commenter

its also the reason why there are so many Australians out there on the international circuit.

7. swsimp160

swsimp160 Occasional commenter