1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Report Writing Grammar

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by Principal-Skinner, Mar 27, 2012.

1. Principal-Skinner

Principal-Skinner Occasional commenter

We're in the process of writing reports and there has been a little bit of a dispute regarding prepositions.
    Which do you think is correct and why?
    "John Smith produced work to a good standard." or "John Smtih produced work of a good standard."
    Does it depend on the circumstances and are there times either could be used?
    All feedback gratefully received, and a virtual pint for all contributors. [​IMG]

2. I am not an expert but I feel both are correct depending on how you interpret the word standard. If by standard you mean a particular standard or point that all work is judged against, then it is "to a good standard". If it is a range say from quite good to very good, and John has produced work that fits somewhere in that range, then I would say it's "of a good standard".
    Although I am not wholly convinced myself - but it's a view isn't it?

I don't like pints by the way - can I have a large glass of chilled white wine instead please?

3. Principal-Skinner

[​IMG]

Please take my offering, although I can't
    vouch for the vintage.
    If I'm to interpret what you say, working to specific standards, Learning ladders / NC levels, the first is more suitable. (I know 'good' isn't an NC level, but I hope you get my drift of thought.)

4. Just another thought (it's ok I don't want another drink) maybe it's to do with tenses?

perhaps "John Smith is producing work to a good standard" or "John Smith has produced work of a good standard"