1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Renovating / extending

Discussion in 'Personal' started by lindenlea, Mar 19, 2012.

1. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

May buy a house in need of renovation / extension. I've never done this before and haven't got much idea where to start. So far my action plan reads -
    contact local planning office for general info;
    find someone to design it ( how? Is it better to hire an architect or do builders offer a design service)
    find a builder;
    Any advice welcome. I'd prefer not to go down this route but I need to have it as an option because there's not a lot on the market that doesn't need major work and we're beginning to get a bit more interest in "our lovely home"..

2. lindenlea

lindenlea Star commenter

May buy a house in need of renovation / extension. I've never done this before and haven't got much idea where to start. So far my action plan reads -
    contact local planning office for general info;
    find someone to design it ( how? Is it better to hire an architect or do builders offer a design service)
    find a builder;
    Any advice welcome. I'd prefer not to go down this route but I need to have it as an option because there's not a lot on the market that doesn't need major work and we're beginning to get a bit more interest in "our lovely home"..

3. From having watched the trainwreck of the house out the back's extension saga (so far we're onto month number 7 of it) - get a builder you can TRUST! The bunch of clowns this bunch have hired have really taken the mickey knowing the owners have moved out for the duration of works (and made our lives hell in the process but that's another story).