1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Relief / substitute/supply teaching

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by kabainbridge, Dec 13, 2011.

1. Hello all, I am a relief teacher in New Zealand and also a beginning teacher. I would love some advice on dealing behaviour problems with primary school students from a relievers point of view.
    I have read all the great advice on your forums but I don't have the luxury of being able to try the reward charts, traffic lights and other strategies that take time to get to know your students.
    Often I dont know names so putting names on the board can be a challenge. I like the advice I saw on one forum about discussing expectations at the beginning of the day and rewarding them with 3 blocks of 10 minutes of game/free time.
    Some schools I teach there are students with anger management problems. Juniors are challenging at the best of times. They dont seem to be able to stand in line without pushing, hitting etc. They are constantly calling each other names or hitting. I feel like I am dealing with these issues all day. Obviously the regular teacher has no rewards in place or I'd be using it or if they do they don't tell me about it.
    Sending for anther teacher to remove them to another class has worked from time to time. I feel like a failure when I have to do this. Time out mats only work when the child will go there.
    I would like other relievers to please share what they do to set the tone, get around not knowing names, and being in control.

2. Hello all, I am a relief teacher in New Zealand and also a beginning teacher. I would love some advice on dealing behaviour problems with primary school students from a relievers point of view.