1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Relevant degree for Primary/Teach First credibility

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by missc-tf, Dec 30, 2018.

1. missc-tf

missc-tf New commenter

Hi I am currently a Primary NQT in the south west of England and this is my first post on this website so I'm sorry if these are basic questions!

A bit about me: I am currently enrolled in the PGDE Teach First graduate programme (I know there may be some critics of this) and will hopefully be completing the masters next year whilst still teaching. My undergraduate degree was in Psychology. I have been teaching year 5 since September 2017. Since long before entering teaching, I have always had in the back of my mind teaching abroad (3 month educational placement in Ghana with VSO and 2 months SEN placement in Sri Lanka confirmed this). Originally from Northern Ireland, I have always loved travelling and I look forward to experiencing another culture. Now I know I do not have enough experience yet - but I want to get as much relevant experience as possible before applying for international jobs, hence my discovery of this forum! So far I am flexible on which location as it is a couple of years away - but Singapore/Japan/Indonesia are really sticking out and of course Dubai.

Questions:

From my research so far I have seen that schools in the UAE need a degree that matches your subject. I cannot seem to find a consensus if Psychology will be sufficient for teaching Primary there? I have strong A Levels in the sciences and maths but I assume this only matters in the UK!