1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Registering with an agency

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by Physallis, Jun 11, 2011.

1. Hello. I just wondered if people have had luck registering with an agency for international job searches. Are the fairs worth going to? Have people had success with getting offers of employment etc? Am considering registering with one of the big boys but just wondered if people have had positive experiences? Thanks.

2. the hippo

the hippo Established commenter Community helper

I have had some positive experiences with Search Associates. Yes, their jobfairs are worth going to, even though the paperwork beforehand can be a bit daunting. Of course it can be rather expensive to go to a jobfair and there is no guarantee of a job at the end of it.

3. nemo.

nemo. New commenter

Hi you need 4 completed references to be invited to a fair and be fully registered. These are online via email. The upside for referees is that they complete them once and many emploees can see them. Of course these need to be 4 good refs!

4. David Getling

David Getling Senior commenter

Thanks for that Nemo. Four references seems somewhat extreme, with two being the norm, and occasionally three. I assume that online via email means that the process, for the referee is fairly lengthy and tiresome. This means that if Search Associates doesn't come up with the goods, then they have gone a long way to exhausting the good will of your referees, who you will now need to ask for further references: this is my concern.