1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Regaining or just gaining control and promoting positive behaviour?

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by sillysloth, Mar 14, 2016.

1. sillysloth

sillysloth New commenter

I am a not yet qualified teacher working on supply until summer before I begin my probation year next year. For the past 4 weeks I have been working two days a week in a P3/4. I should be sharing the class with the PT however the position has been vacant and the head has been covering the other three days. When I first started I was mainly concerned about planning/teaching as the plans had not been updated for a while and I couldn't make sense of the format, however over the past month I've put in some serious hours clawing stuff together and was beginning to feel like I knew what I was doing(-ish). Cue today.

The behaviour has been horrific. Kids coming in to class singing, shouting, walking between desks having full volume conversations. Constant background noise. At least 4 kids per lesson asking what they should be doing after me explaining, modelling, having another child explain etc. There is one boy in the class with real behaviour issues who threw things around the class, ripped displays off the wall and wiped work off the board. Every time I tried to diffuse the situation with him chaos erupted elsewhere. Another (new) pupil was in tears because she misses her old school and another (also new) was caught kicking her partner under the table.