1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reflective reviews...

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by stevebuckley84, May 20, 2009.

1. Hi, I'm a first year Registered Teacher Programme student with five years experience of PPA, Y6 Booster groups and in house cover.
    I'm passionate about teaching and put my all into the lessons- but am rubbish with the unnecessary paper trail. I'm being assessed just after half term and need to show that I have been reflective in my practice.

Big ask, I was wondering if anyone has done these and could email me over to edit! If you can help, please please do!

2. Hi Steve
    Being reflective is not an unnecessary paper expercsie and it is not something that you can fudge from someone eles's work. The whole point about reflective practice is that YOU reflect on your own work/teaching/planning etc and from that, inform future work. Reflective practice is not possible using someone else's work simply because they are not reflecting on what you have done, but what they have done!
    Teaching is a profession and the heart of being a professional is not about knowing what to do and how to do it but WHY you are doing it - in other words linking theory with practice.
    Many people starting on a teacher education programme (myself included over 25 years ago) are scathing about theories of teaching and the seemingly 'unnecessary' lesson planning and evaluation etc., but as you progress I hope that you will be able to see the necessity. early on in my teaching career I appreciated the role of being a reflective practitioner and how theory helps practice in teaching.