1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Referencing students' behaviour

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by penandink, Apr 10, 2011.

1. My school has recently received a reference from my last school stating that I had some problems with behaviour in the classroom. Other elements of the reference are very good. However it seems this is a sticking point for my school now. I have explained that, yes, I had behavioural problems with one class in particular, that was mirrored throughout the school and it was found that the girls involved had made a facebook hate site about me and a few other teachers which was causing the ongoing problems. Im fairly certain the girls were gang related.
    I was a supply teacher at the time, no one spoke to me about my handling of this group, other than to tell me to drop my standards and lower my expectations nor did I get much support in terms of HOD and HOF detentions. I tried to put the girls on report but they just tore up the reports, screamed at me and left the room. I used to lock my door through lunchtime as they would bang on my windows and doors constantly or run into my classroom at will, screaming and carrying on.
    I will admit that it was the worst teaching job I have ever had and soon after I left and got a job in a much friendlier school and have had no major behavioural issues- in fact I would say my classroom mgt is one of my strengths. When I left my last school the mgt asked me if I would make a complaint to the police about these girls...they said that they wouldnt but would back me to do so. I just wanted to be rid of the entire scenario so I did not follow this up.