1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

References after being off due to WRS help

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Honeychile74, Mar 21, 2017.

1. Honeychile74

Honeychile74 New commenter

I have been teaching for nine years and in that time have never managed to secure a permanent position as I live in a very rural location where people tend to stay in their jobs until they retire. Despite this, I have managed to secure fairly prolonged periods of work during this period of time, mainly maternity and long-term sickness covers.
    I am currently employed on yet another maternity cover contract which is due to end in July, but I am currently signed off with WRS. Prior to my being signed off, I was exhibiting signs of stress, but did not realise this at the time. I was then observed and given an Inadequate. This resulted in my stress worsening and me being signed off for the past six weeks. Without going into too much detail, it is clear that my face does not fit in this school (I am a woman of colour in a very white area) and that some pupils haven't taken too kindly to my attempts to discipline them in lessons, as there have also been pupil complaints about me.

I love teaching and have never once considered leaving the profession. But my experience at this school has really made me question whether I should stay in a job that I once loved and that I see has totally changed in its expectations of teachers in the past five years.