1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Redundancy. What to do next?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by purplerprincess, Jul 11, 2019.

1. purplerprincess

purplerprincess New commenter

Hi all,

I have been lurking here for a few months now, following threads and looking through old ones for advice. I am a teacher being made redundant from a small primary school where I have been working for three years due to low numbers. As I have been on various part time to full time hours over those years my redundancy pay is not very much.

I have looked at other teaching jobs. Applied for two, invited for two interviews but only attended one. Didn't get the job although they were very positive.

However, I have increasingly been feeling (over the past 6 months or so) that I am not enjoying teaching. I find the extra admin etc so frustrating and the tasks we are expected to do are endless. I have felt pressured by current head to apply for teaching jobs as they always go on about my career and the fact I studied for four years plus working there and saying what they would do in my situation.