1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Redundancy package and continuous service

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by thebluehouse, Jun 7, 2019.

1. thebluehouse

thebluehouse New commenter

Hi there,

My Headteacher had a meeting with me on Wednesday to tell me that, due to restructuring, she is making me redundant as of January 2020.

I am struggling to calculate what my redundancy payout will be. I have been a qualified teacher since 1993. I had a year out in 2001/2002 and worked in the private sector 2003 - 2008. There seems to be conflicting information about employment in the private sector and continuous service.

Can anybody advise me on any of this? I have e-mailed my union but no reply as yet.

Thanks,

2. thebluehouse

Just to confirm, I am the DHT of a 1 form entry primary school and she described it as a 'management restructuring'.

3. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter

I very much doubt if service in the private sector counts towards your continuous service, as it is very clearly a different employer. But anyway, this would only affect your minimum entitlement, and many employers offer more, so we can't advise you on what you would get. Sorry if this is obvious, but surely you should ask at your school. I was made redundant three times in my pre-teaching career, and each time, the terms were given to me, in writing, at an early stage. I would ask your Head when you see her, assuming she does not tell you without being asked.

4. thebluehouse

Thank you very much for posting. The decision is being finalised at a governors meeting on Thursday so I will need to wait until after that meeting for the terms.

5. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter