1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reducing marking? Plus - 'unhelpful' (ahem) HOD

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by headflower, Mar 6, 2011.

1. headflower

headflower New commenter

Hi,
    I'm a secondary Science teacher, teach 22 lessons per week. I have 3 'frees;' 45 min's lunch; meetings / clubs 4 out of 5 school nights.
    Currently I do my planning at weekends and have whittled this down to 2 - 3 hours. Hubby has installed 'Google Desktop,' which searches every document I've ever written and automatically finds every relevant website I've ever visited when I enter key-words - it's reduced my planning hugely. In less than 4 years, our school is on its third KS3 SOW, so I have few 'old' lessons that I can re-use.
    All my students have one piece of homework marked per week - we mark together at the start of the lesson most of the time. I only rarely set homework tasks that I have to mark.
    I am still finding it impossible to stay on top of marking and this is not helped by our 'over-zealous' HOD.
    We have always had 'book-monitoring' on a termly rotation - we used to provide 6 books per group, 2 top students, 2 average, 2 bottom from each group. We'd swap books and check the following - Date, Title & L.O. for every lesson, books completely marked, 'WW-EBI' feedback given about once a week. Then we'd fill in a short form on the pc. Fine.