1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Recurrent impetigo driving me mad!

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Jellyfish5469, Mar 2, 2016.

1. Jellyfish5469

Jellyfish5469 New commenter

apologies if this is in the wrong place!

In the last 15 months I have had impetigo 6 times and it is rotten! Each time it has come back I have used fucidin but it just won't see to die, I get it at random times (in middle of summer holiday) and never in the same place though always on my lips. It was diagnosed 15 months ago by my gp who gave me antibiotics and the fucidin, was this meant to eliminate it - I'm not a serial doctors apt person so only ever go in when I clock up a few complaints! Perhaps my own fault but doesn't stop me feeling miserable about it! It comes at a time when I really need support from friends but I'm dreading going anywhere in this state :(

2. racroesus

racroesus Star commenter

Go back.

3. coffeekid

coffeekid Star commenter

Yep. Back to the GP for you.
    In the mean time, use boiled water and salt and a clean flannel to bathe the affected area.

4. Lascarina

Lascarina Star commenter

You need to go back to your GP ASAP and get them to refer you to a dermatologist. I can understand how rotten you feel. It's a horrible thing to have.

5. Lascarina

Lascarina Star commenter

I would say a sterile swab that should be discarded immediately afterwards.

6. coffeekid

coffeekid Star commenter

As long as it's not cotton wool.
    Muslin squares, maybe.

Lascarina likes this.
  7. Duke of York

Duke of York Star commenter