1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Recommended books for NQTS starting in September!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by natalie28, May 21, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I am a student qualifying this summer and have a job in a KS2 class starting in September, I just wondered if people could recommend any books that are a must have. Iv got the Sue Crawley "How to survive your first year in teaching", but i was also thinking of books that could be used for lesson ideas, sheets for homework etc... as whilst being a student, teachers have always lent them to me!

Thanks in advance!
    Natalie

2. I found that book a great companion during my NQT year, I was also given a copy of 100+ ideas for managing behaviour which I found really useful. I've seen a couple of those 100 idea books and they seem good, I think theres one on lesson planning and a few others.
    Best of luck for an extremely challenging but fantastic year.

3. Thanks for the advice, iv been reading it whilst on my final placement and its given me lots of ideas! Yes my current class teacher has got lots of the 100+ books for literacy and maths which i think are alright i just wondered if there was anything else out there to compare... havent heard of the 100+ ideas for managing behaviour but will definitely check that out.

4. Worth taking a subscription to the Hamilton Trust. A lot of their stuff is very good provided you adapt it for your class. £25 will give you access to UKS2 Literacy, Maths and Science.

5. Oh and Pie Corbett,s "Jumostart Literacy". Loads of great starter ideas.

6. Corbett's.

7. "Jumpstart Literacy". I can't believe it's taken 3 posts to get that right.