1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reception Lesson Plan - Water?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by wrightc17, May 16, 2009.

1. I am a PGCE student and have got my first interview this week. Needless to say I am feeling very nervous! I have to teach a creative cross curricular lesson on the theme of "The Importance of Water". Water is a fun topic and there is lots you can do but it's the 'importance' part that has thrown me a bit. Does anyone have any suggestions/ideas etc I could use? Also if there are any interview tips/possible questions I would very much appreciate them. Thanks.

2. One of my reception children's favourite water activities was when we looked at water for power - we filled the water tray and made waves by moving a tray (held vertically) backwards and forwards and saw its effect on floating toys, we then repeated this with parachute play - makingwaves to see how high we could shoot plastic balls (the type you have in a ball pit). Their very favourite though was water pistols - seeing if a jet of water was powerful enough to knock various items over. Hope this is useful, good luck for your interview (if it's for Foundation within a primary school you might want to include something about transition into yr1/KS1 and developing a Foundation style curriculum in yr1)

3. That's quite a toughie for interview esp for Reception.
    Will you have access to an interactive whiteboard / internet? How long does it need to be?
    The very nature of EYFS means most teacing is cross-curriculuar so make sure your lesson plan has reference to the ELGs in each of the areas as appropriate.