1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reception Lesson flow + Number Recognition

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Mac93, Mar 12, 2016.

1. Mac93

Mac93 New commenter

Hi everyone

I'm a trainee teacher and I really could use some advice. I have been called to an interview where I've got to teach a low-ability reception class number recognition to fifteen for an hour.

I'm not worried about taking the little ones, but Reception is a new experience for me since most of my experience has been within Reggio-inspired Nurseries/ SEN schools where children would pick an activity during free flow and I'd turn that into a learning opportunity, rather than planning an extended session like this. I'm not even sure how many children there will be but I'm going to assume 30+. I don't know if there will be any TA's, if there are any SEN/EAL or anything like that.

How does a typical Reception lesson "go"? About ten minutes for an opening activity on the carpet? Five-ten minute plenary/final group activity...I've thought about setting up three or four activities in the middle as the main thrust of the lesson (and getting them to swap at some point) but I'd appreciate some advice on how a Reception lesson should be organized.

Any advice on this would really be very much appreciated! As would any suggestions for number recognition to fifteen. I don't know any Nursery Rhymes that go that high to use for an opening but I had a few ideas for activities and the plenary (Missing numbers on a numberline, line of green bottles; how many are there if we knock some off? Fishing out numbered balls from a tank, can they then place them in order?). Am I on the right kind of track with this?