1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reassurance that it's ok to take a break from teaching

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by badjelly, Jun 24, 2012.

1. I am coming to the end of a temporary contract at a primary school where I have been working for the last 3 years (they have continued to give me short term contracts - maternity cover etc. rather than taking me on permanently). I stayed because i had just finished my PGCE and needed to get my induction done - which is now completed :) .
    My time there has not been ideal, I did a full 16 months PPA cover before they finally agreed to let me be class based and do my induction. I have not really received the required support in planning and have mostly been left to get on with it. This resulted in me being signed off work for stress and exhaustion earlier this year (for about 3 weeks). I have persevered and started looking for a permanent job at Easter. I applied for the vacancies at my own school and was shortlisted but did not get the job - based on my interview (I don't think i came across as confident enough). I haven't been shortlisted from my other applications.
    I am still keeping an eye out for suitable vacancies but with only 4 weeks left of term am also thinking of taking some time out from teaching to get some perspective back. Everything I read makes out that once you are out of the game it is much harder to secure a job as things constantly change and you become out of touch. I want to believe that i could still be in the runnings for a job start in January (and better for it for taking a break).