1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Really downhearted - PGCE student job hunting!

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by rjoneslich, Mar 4, 2011.

1. Hi there, I'm currently a History PGCE student with a reasonable amount of experience within the educational world - I was a TA for a couple of years before starting my PGCE course. I've applied for 8-9 jobs, all in different geographical locations as being flexible (or so I thought!) would help me! I have not heard anything back from any of them! It is really doing me down at the moment. I got my covering letter checked by my professional mentor at my Placement A school, and he said it was 'good'. I suppose all I have to do is keep on applying, but I now reckon i'm not going to get a job - what do people think I could do instead if I were not to get a job? Many thanks

2. Cervinia

Cervinia Occasional commenter

Sorry, 9 applications isn't enough to get yourself down about it. I assume you're due to qualify in July...? If so, that's months and plenty more time/jobs to go for.

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

By many people's standards 8-9 applications isn't so many.
    So have you read all Theo's advice in the clickables at the start of this forum?
    Job hunting season is only just starting- between now & end of May is the 'main season', s0 get looking so your next few applications show you in the best possible light to crack the interview & then the job!