1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Realistic salary range in Kota Kinabalu?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by beejaamin, Dec 4, 2018.

1. beejaamin

beejaamin New commenter

Hi all!

Thank you in advance for any help and/or advice offered from you all :)

I've seen so much varied (and a little outdated) information on this subject. I'm not looking for exact amounts (as I know it all depends on particular school and teaching experience etc)

Could anyone give me a ball park expectation of a decent salary in Kota Kinabalu?

I'm just trying to work out if it's at all feasible in my personal situation.

I'm a primary teacher, looking at teaching in a British International School.

Thank you all!

2. rosiecg

rosiecg Occasional commenter

No idea about KK but look through the forum at anything about Malaysia or Penang and that will give you a rough idea.

3. mummalea

mummalea New commenter

Hi there

KK will be cheaper to live in than mainland Malaysia (KL). Don’t compare salaries with the UK as you’ll be disappointed. As a secondary English teacher with KS3 - KS4 responsibility, I earned approx 11 800 ringgit per month. But tax initially is very high on low sums and you may need to spend on paying several months rent in advance. I suggest you check the healthcare provision CAREFULLY as many are let down by unexplained, inadequate cover.

That said, Borneo is fab - great for scuba, hiking, climbing and beaches. Lovely people. Good food. Amazing Eco structure. Great opportunities to visit south east Asia. A loooong way from home if things don’t work out or you need to fly back in a hurry.

4. knocker

knocker New commenter