1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Realistic or Defeatist

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by BurlyGal, May 7, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    First post on here so apologies if I'm getting it wrong!

I'm sure you've probably all heard a lot of talk in this vein so please forgive me if I'm just tooting the same old notes. I wondered if anyone might be able to give me a little advice on my situation? I'm a 28 year old Psychology graduate, for the last three years I have been working in the Library Service and for the last five years I have been working (alongside the day job) part time as a professional cabaret performer, creating theatrical, character based performances.

I am desparately keen to go into teaching performing arts/theatre studies/drama at a post compulsory level but I wanted a little advice. Firstly - am I crazy to think I could be accepted to teach performing arts with it not being my degree? I'd be perfectly happy to do psychology as well, but performing arts is where my real passion lies. I contacted someone at University and they said to put down both on my application and didn't discourage me outright but I'm just worried that my 'professional experience' won't be viewed as anything special.