1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Realistic chances of employment

Discussion in 'Australia - Staffroom' started by clawdeer, Jun 5, 2017.

1. clawdeer

clawdeer New commenter

Hi, I have been living on the Gold Coast for 2 months, settling in well. I am a UK qualified primary teacher with 12+ years teaching experience in the prep age group.
    I've registered with QCT, TRACER and written to local schools. I check Smart Jobs and Seek / Indeed daily. There are no jobs advertised at the moment.
    When is the major recruitment time here?
    How realistic is it to be job hunting here?
    What tips can anyone give me?
    Many thanks in advance for any advice

2. saoghalbeag

saoghalbeag New commenter

I'm assuming you've registered with Education Queensland as you mention TRACER? Process in state (public) schools is quite different in Queensland to UK as Education Dept distributes teachers based on their rating system and need, rather than advertising jobs and recruiting on merit/interview. You may need to attend an interview to organise your Edu Qld rating? It also helps if you're flexible, otherwise you've only got supply.

I'd say major recruitment is towards the end of the school year (Oct/Nov) as teachers hand in their notice. Sometimes there's a flurry in January as plans change, student numbers are confirmed (that's in private/independent schools).

You could try contacting schools directly? Try also www.teachers.on.net for independent jobs. You could also register with Catholic Education https://bcejobs.nga.net.au/cp/index.cfm? as Catholic schools are many.

I have family and friends teaching on the Gold Coast and it is a tough market to crack. Good luck!

clawdeer likes this.