1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reading with expression

Discussion in 'Primary' started by nues, Oct 20, 2010.

1. Just wondered whether EYFS & KS1 teachers put an emphasis on reading with expression? I'm KS2/3 trained and have children coming into Y3 who struggle with this-which I expect. My son is a summer born Y1 whose TA cannot comment on anything other than his slightly monotone reading voice, but what's more important to me is that he's able to read & understand Stage 6 of ORT, we are working on expression, but feel that it will come in time. Don't want to respond harshly to her as they know I'm a teacher. All thoughts kindly received...

2. Reading with expression is a higher order skill - or one of those things which some tinies can do because they are emulating a mum or teacher whilst they pretend-read a story book!
    Nowadays, there is far more emphasis placed on accurate decoding rather than reading 'with fluency and expression' - the latter which took precedent during the days of guessing so many words from context.

For many children fluency and expression will come with time - and for some children it never really comes at all because that's just the way they are!
    Perhaps one way of supporting such a skill is re-reading a familar book and opportunities to read aloud in non-intimidating situations.

3. My daughters' school prioritises expression right from the start. In Nursery and Reception, when they are mostly reading from pic queues and memory, they are already encouraged/trained to read with expression. This is continually encouraged, as they move up the stages.