1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reading schemes

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by mda23, Sep 8, 2012.

1. Which reading schemes do you use in your school (and have found most successful?)
    Ive been told I have to go back to using Oxford Reading Tree for this year and just wondering your thoughts on this scheme as I've never used it fully before.
    Do your children like it? How did you introduce it? Is it successful?

Any advice would be lovely!

2. We use ORT. I like it and the chn like the books. It starts with books with no text and very gradually builds skills. We supplement it with other books just to add variety (and other types of text - non fiction, poetry). I like the way they introduce history topics in the stories like the Egyptians and Victorians - later on though.

3. Msz

Msz Established commenter

It really depends if it is the original ORT or the new. The original is a look and say scheme and relies on children memorising and guessing a high percentage of words so obviously doesn't match current teaching methods.
    It's OK once children are able to read but not the best option for EYs

4. Dandelion launchers available from matched funding, then transfer onto red level ORT works well for us.

5. Msz

There are lots of good schemes available on matched funding personally I wouldn't introduce ORT until gold band

6. Its the new scheme thankfully - I know what you mean about the old one.
    HT wants it used across both Reception classes as it is used widely throughout school.