1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reading intervention for Exceeding pupils

Discussion in 'Primary' started by lemur23, Jan 1, 2017.

1. lemur23

lemur23 New commenter

Hi,
    I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas regarding this.
    I'm a Year 5 teacher in a two form entry school and 10 of our current Year 5 pupils were assessed as being at Level 3 for Reading in Year 2. Therefore the Leadership team are looking for them to achieve 'Greater Depth' in this at the end of Year 6 and I've been asked to run an intervention group four days a week with these pupils with the aim of helping them get there. As five of them are at the moment only just scraping 'Expected' on comprehension tests (Y5 Rising Stars scheme) this is a bit of a worry!
    We already have a carousel system where children have a daily 25 min session of Guided Reading with the teacher, Comprehesion practice with TA, a pre read task, follow up task to Guided reading work or word level work task. They also have a weekly literacy lesson devoted to teaching comprehension skills. But I'm wondering if anyone else has ideas of what else I could do to develop comprehension skills further in ore able children.
    I'd also appreciate any guidance or links to what reading 'at greater depth' or at 'mastery' level actually means - there seems to be very little guidance.

All suggestions gratefully received

2. modgepodge

modgepodge Established commenter

I'd appreciate some guidance on whether greater depth actually exists in reading (and maths and spag). This website https://www.gov.uk/guidance/scaled-scores-at-key-stage-2 says not: