1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Reading Intervention at KS3

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by elena1234, Jun 29, 2019.

1. elena1234

elena1234 New commenter

I have been asked to deliver a reading intervention to whole classes of between 15 to 28 students.
    For some classes, reading ages can range from 15:00 to 6:00.
    One lesson each week.
    As a SEND Teacher I am used to planning interventions based around individual assessments. For those with lower reading ages - it is unclear if their literacy delays are due to gaps in their knowledge of phonics or are language / comprehension related.
    I haven't been provided with the focus of this intervention or any resources. Should I expect to be provided with these?
    Feeling quite lost...…
    Does anyone have any ideas / thoughts that I could try and pull together by the end of term as I have to submit a medium term plan for Y7 through to Y9.

2. minnie me

minnie me Star commenter