1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Re Trainee teacher project

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by ELLIS1980, Dec 31, 2011.

1. Hello, I am a trainee teacher currently doing an SKE via Brighton Uni. I have a project involving a hand held catapult. Am i correct in thinking i cannot calculate the range a projectile can be fired without having either time or initial velocity? I have Mass, acceleration and force already and have found a similar project involving a spud gun from which i can get muzzle velocity but not initial? Any help would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards ELLIS1980

2. DM

DM New commenter

I answered your last question on this topic. Can I suggest you borrow an M1 or M2 textbook (depending on the specification) and read up on projectiles? You will soon see that the quantities you claim to have measured are of little use here as, ignoring air resistance, the acceleration of a falling object is independent of its mass and is fixed at 9.81 metres per second squared downwards.

3. Hey,

What are you trying to find out and how does the catapult work? Could you not treat the end of the muzzle as zero? The muzzle velocity would then become the "initial velocity" and you could work out how far the object would travel from the end of the muzzle then add on the length of the barrell?

4. "You will soon see that the quantities you claim to have measured are of little use here "