1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

RE SIAS Inspection

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Grace3784, Jul 3, 2011.

1. Following on from our Ofsted inspection, we are getting an RE SIAS inspection in a weeks time. As RE co-ordinator i will be involved in a meeting with inspector. I have never had any experience with inspectors (just observing my lessons) and have no idea what they will want to see, ask me etc.
    Has anyone got any experience and can give me some kind of ideaof the meeting or general inspection?
    Thanks,
    Grace

2. Gardening Leaves

Gardening Leaves New commenter

Hi Grace
    I have had extensive experience of working with Inspectors/Advisors like this, both as a head of department and then senior leader. (From the acronym, I assume your visit is from your local authority's 'Inspection and Advisory Service'.)
    Their role in this capacity is to assist you in evaluating the quality of teaching and learnming in your department, help you to identify priorities for development and agree with you any support they can give to enable your department to progress.
    They are likely to want to look through your development plans with you, look at schemes of work, strengths and weaknesses in teaching in your department and help you to identify what you need to do and how you need to do it.
    I have invariably found these people to be friendly and supportive. Yes, they can be incisive - but that's what they are paid to do, to really help you to get to the issues - but I think you will find that it is an encouraging and rewarding session.

3. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

No, SIAS is: Statutory Inspection of Anglican Schools.