1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

RCT/NCT Literacy Teacher

Discussion in 'English' started by Paigepreedy, Jul 23, 2017.

1. Paigepreedy

Paigepreedy New commenter

Hello everyone!

I am looking for some advice and guidance regarding a new role i will be taking on after the Summer holidays (Literacy Teacher for 9 classes). I am a new teacher (2 years experience) and have jotted lots of ideas down for a rough yearly plan. I am wondering if someone has had a similar role in the past and can provide some helpful tips, plans or suggestions which may help me. Much appreciated and thanks in advance!

Paige

2. roamingteacher

roamingteacher Established commenter Forum guide

Can you be more specific about your job description? What ages are you teaching, how often, specific goals etc? Maybe you could also share your rough plan so we can get an idea of what you're aiming for?

3. Paigepreedy

Thanks for your reply! So i will be teaching 9 classes throughout the primary school from p1-p7 (ages 4-12 roughly). I will have each class for 2.5 hours per week give or take. My responsibility is to teach the literacy curriculum to each class. So far I have split the aspects of literacy over the 4 terms but I'm not sure if i'm on the right track.

Term 1: Reading strategies (scanning, skimming etc)
    Term 2: Writing (scripts, imaginative, functional etc)
    Term 3: Novel Study (HOTS, BLOOMS)
    Term 4: Moving Image Education/Film Studies
    Ongoing: handwriting and grammar

Your thoughts would be much appreciated!

4. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter