1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Rates of pay for Exam markers???

Discussion in 'Education news' started by slingshotsally, Mar 12, 2016.

1. slingshotsally

slingshotsally Star commenter

Hi All,

I have just clicked "Become a marker" advert and I can find lots of information regarding how to apply but nothing whatsoever in rates?

Does anyone know? Do they pay different rates for different subjects? Are they not complying with minimum wage?

SSS

2. Scintillant

Scintillant Star commenter

Hi, I am an expert examiner (science) for one of the major boards. I've been doing it for many years and find the pay and workload to be fine - but then my teaching workload is also reasonable and it allows me the time to mark.

The hourly rate works out very well in my opinion, there's a bonus for completing on time (which I have never had any concerns over as there is more than ample time) and there is the option at the end of marking to do extra for a higher rate of pay. I sometimes do more, depends on my mood. It pays for my summer off.

Go for it. You won't get great pay straight off, but it's still fine and in a few years you can be earning pretty decently.

wanet likes this.
  3. slingshotsally

slingshotsally Star commenter

Thanks, Scintillant.

We are in dire straits at the moment and car about the clap-right-out at any moment, so need to look at all opportunities!

SSS

4. wanet

wanet Star commenter

It might be late to apply for this year, generally contracted by now. rate of pay depends upon how fast you can mark.

5. pixiewixiepixie

pixiewixiepixie Occasional commenter

"but nothing whatsoever in rates?"

There's a reason for that!!

Most teachers refuse to mark because