1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Ramadam

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by laurapanda, Jun 25, 2011.

1. Hello!

This is my first year teaching internationally (well, actually, it's my first year teaching!) and as it's a 100% Muslim community all of the students and staff are expected to be fasting. Expat staff are requested to be respectful and not eat or drink on school grounds.

Apparently the school runs on a reduced timetable, and we have our half term break in August, but not really sure what to expect. The students has mock tests during August, which I think think is a bit cruel.

Anyway, I'm just looking for a bit of reassurance if I'm honest. I have a bit of a fainting habit when I get dehydrated, so a 6 hour day without water could be interesting. I hope I haven't sounded insensitive- I realise it's much more difficult for the kids,, but I am a bit worried.

How do other international school adapt around Ramadam?

2. MisterMaker

MisterMaker Occasional commenter

Ridiculous how some countries enforce beliefs of one group (albeit a majority) on non believers. Sneak a bottle of water (or gin) in your bag and take the odd swig when on your own.
    When I worked in the ME the ladies had more regular menstruation patterns than normal (you can't fast when menstruating!)

3. Karvol

Karvol Occasional commenter

Muslim staff one would presume. There is nothing in Islam about forcing non-Muslims to follow fasting. If you want to, that is up to you. If you don't, just do eat or dring in the privacy of the staffroom.