1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Quitting The Job

Discussion in 'English' started by lswow, Nov 16, 2017.

1. lswow

lswow New commenter

Hi all,

I just wanted a little bit of career advice, I guess!

I've been teaching for 7 years in England and Wales. The job has become so tiring and difficult that most days, I come home and cry...then I mark... then I cry a little again! I have just come to a point where my mental health is so affected by this career choice, that I am having to medicate in order to feel relatively normal.

I'm done with dealing with: pupils who think that watching the film is enough for a Literature exam, SLT who constantly monitor and harass, a wage that I can't pay my rent with comfortably and most of all the workload.

Although I am worried that I will miss the actual job of teaching itself, I feel that if I don't change my options nothing will actually get better. It has become unmanageable and just so soul destroying.

I was wondering as an English teacher, what my career options could possibly be? I've only ever taught as a job and am at a total loss as to where to begin even looking! I have a degree in Eng and Creative Writing so am skilled at writing (obviously) and actually love it. Are there any jobs related to education and writing as a theme?

There's lots of general threads about leaving, but I couldn't quite see a thread specific for English teachers.

Thank you in advance,
    :)

pepper5 likes this.
  2. pianopete

pianopete Occasional commenter