1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Quick question about union officer being present in a meeting.

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by lou5357, Nov 12, 2018.

1. lou5357

lou5357 New commenter

If an employee is invited to one of those "it is informal at this stage'' type of meeting with the Head Teacher, will it automatically become formal if the employee asks for his/her union officer to be present at said meeting?
    Our Head has requested a meeting with a colleague who feels uncomfortable about seeing the Head on a one-to-one.
    Is anyone able to answer this, or do I need to give a little more info'?

2. mothorchid

mothorchid Star commenter

I'm no expert, but I think you have a right to take a "friend". If that friend should happen to be a union rep...

Flanks and FrankWolley like this.
  3. strawbs

strawbs Established commenter

They could ask to be accompanied by union rep/other person, but the head has the right to say no in an informal meeting.
    I don't believe the employee can insist, and therefore this wouldn't then trigger it being formal. Only the HT side can decide it is formal.
    IMO a head who denied an employee the right to be informally accompanied suggest they have something to hide!

4. strawbs

strawbs Established commenter

Do I have the right to take a colleague or union representative?
    Possibly. Workers have a statutory right to be accompanied by a colleague or trade union official where they are required or invited by their employer to attend certain disciplinary or grievance hearing

What if the meeting is neither a disciplinary nor grievance hearing?