1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Questions for a current/past GTPer

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by maitress, Feb 22, 2011.

1. As a current GTP student I can confirm that it is death by paperwork. I was promised (!) that I would work 60+ hours a week and that is probably about right. Like many things it all depends on how much you want to do as you can get by doing a lot less than me.
    I don't know how many get employed by their schools as it will depend on how well you are suited to your school, not everyone likes their placement school, and also on if they have a job, which will have to be advertised and you will have to compete with all other applicants although you will have an advantage.
    As for interview all consortiums are different in their selection processes but you will most likely have to teach a lesson but you should be given information beforehand on class/group size, year group etc so you can pitch your lesson at the right level. They will probably be looking for how you interact with the children mostly and potential. They are not looking for your lesson to meet Ofsted criteria before you have had training!
    As for applying to schools, visit them first. They have to be right for you. They should show you round and you should get to chat with your prospective mentor as you need to be able to get on with them as you will have a very close relationship for a year. That I would recommend as essential.