1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Questions about teaching abroad...?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by jessicaGGG, Mar 4, 2016.

1. jessicaGGG

jessicaGGG New commenter

Hi everyone! I'm a primary school teacher and it has always been my dream to teach abroad in Asia (I lived there when I was younger so I am in love with the culture, food, weather etc !) and I had a few questions about the best way to do it...

Firstly, I am married. My husband it keen to relocate with me, but he would be looking for a job once we get there most likely (unless he manages to find something in the same place as the school I hopefully end up working in!!). Would a school employ me and provide housing for us both normally?

Secondly, what is the general system for maternity leave? I am not planning on having a baby in the next 5 years (as I am only 25) so it is not on my imminent radar but I am just curious about what a teaching contract might look like? Let's say I start working in an International school in 2017 and work there for 5 years before becoming pregnant.. would there be any provision for maternity leave in the contract or would it be bye-bye contract?!

If anyone who has experience of working in Thailand/ Singapore/ Malaysia etc I would really appreciate any advise at all about where/how to apply and what is usually included in the job package. Or any advise at all about relocating!!!

Thanks in advance
    Jessica G

2. wrldtrvlr123

wrldtrvlr123 Occasional commenter

The long and short of it is that it will depend on the school. As a general rule (more of a guideline actually), the bigger/better the school, the better/more generous/more comprehensive their benefits package will be.