1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Questions about China

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by nineartgocurlecheile, Feb 21, 2020.

1. Hi there,

I am an Irish qualified primary teacher considering applying to work in China. I have read a lot of the posts in this forum and just have a few questions if anyone with experience of working in China would be able to answer.

1. How can you tell the difference between the good schools and the bad schools people refer to on the forum? The ads don't seem to have any obvious tells.

2. Does anyone have a blog/website/Youtube channel they would recommend to do some more research on working over there.

3. What is the working day/year like over in China?

4. I am in my mid 30s. Would this affect my chances of getting work over there? I would be planning to go over alone so am wondering are there a variety of age groups teaching over there or would it be mainly younger teachers in their 20s?

4. I would be aiming to maximise my savings potential while over there, what are peoples' experiences of saving while over there, I am particularly interested in people who were saving on their own while over there?

5. What factors affected what part of China you chose to teach in?

Thanks a million for any feedback.

2. RoadToRags

RoadToRags New commenter

Ok then. A lot to say, and there are plenty of others who could weigh in on these many questions.

1. How can you tell the difference between the good schools and the bad schools people refer to on the forum? The ads don't seem to have any obvious tells.