1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

question about the 2 years experience for international schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by MFL_teacher, Aug 14, 2016.

1. MFL_teacher

MFL_teacher New commenter

Hi all,

I'm a MFL teacher, who completed his NQT year in the UK. I'm gonna start my 2nd year of teaching in the same school in September. Ideally, I want to leave and teach abroad (China, Germany, not sure where yet) in the next few years, and the sooner the better.

I know there is this "2 years of recent experience" rule to be able to get a job in a decent international school. My question is: Do these 2 years experience need to be finished by the time of applying to int. jobs or can I still apply while starting my 2nd year of teaching and it will still be counted as 2 years experience since I will have 2 years anyway by the time the int. job start?

Hopefully someone can help me about this. Do I have any chance of securing a position if I start applying to good international schools through search associate in October - December this year (will be in my 2nd year of teaching), or should I wait and start my 3rd year of current teaching first?

I tried to do some research on the forum but did not find a specific answer to that.
    Any thoughts/advice would be hugely appreciated.

2. BeckyK8

BeckyK8 New commenter