1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Quantity of work dwindling for Supply Teachers?

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by zarathushtra, Nov 20, 2019.

1. zarathushtra

zarathushtra New commenter

Hi Everyone,

I have been doing supply work for many years now and although FE trained the majority of my work in in secondary schools teaching science and maths.

I've had a poor start this year and refuse to work as a cover supervisor. Can anyone else tell me if they are getting regular work as a teacher or has it been a similar situation for others too?

Any advise?

agathamorse and pepper5 like this.
  2. steviepal

steviepal New commenter

I work in primary in Sheffield. For me it's much the same this year as last. Pretty poor. Most of my work is in one Academy chain in Sheffield who are still using supply teachers "'like the olden days", but if it wasn't for them I'd be royally screwed. Luckily I have another income stream. I've been riding the supply gravy train for 18 years but now the wheels have fallen off.

3. historygrump

historygrump Lead commenter Forum guide

I have noticed that this year, the work is poorer and even the number of permanent roles advertised is well below normal years, I wonder what the future holds and when will the schools wake up to the fact that sooner or later there may be no supply teachers available in the future,what will happen then? more unqualified cs covering lessons?

agathamorse, pepper5 and Lara mfl 05 like this.
  4. Jolly_Roger15

Jolly_Roger15 Star commenter

@historygrump: The number of vacancies falling, despite the supposed 'desperate shortage of teachers'. It just does not add up, does it? o_O

5. cathr

cathr Occasional commenter