1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Qualified teaching working as supply TA

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Leigh2911, Feb 1, 2016.

1. Leigh2911

Leigh2911 New commenter

As the title says I am a teacher and am currently doing supply and am on a long term teaching assistant job in upper ks2. I am hoping someone can help me with my situation.

I took the post due to needing some work and not being offered much else, I also must point out I am early years trained and did not have much experience in ks2 before this post and would not have taken it if it was a teaching role.
    Since starting at the beginning of term I have been left to teach on numerous occasions, sometimes left with planned work and other times given no prior warning and just left to 'time fill' or try and decide on the spot an activity to do. It has been really challenging not helped by the poor behaviour or the pupils. I had a terrible morning by myself today and was informed in the weekly briefying today I am also pencilled in to cover the class all day Thursday and Friday... I am dreading it!

As I said before I would never have took the post if it was a teaching post and feel I just can't cope by myself. Should I be left alone with the class this much? Am I being unreasonable if I tell them I am not willing to cover the two days?

Any help would be great thanks

2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter